We would like to congratulate the winners of the Carter Ray Giese Sportmanship Awards.

High School: Baylor Kivlahan & Sean Shealer
Youth: Camdyn Spangler & Parker Rojemann

Carter Giese was a young man whose spirit and attitude should guide all athletes. He had a unique, natural talent that allowed him to compete at a high level in almost every sport. Though he loved all sports, his special passion was for hockey. He ranked highly in both assists and goals scored, while his sense of fairness almost required he record the fewest in penalty minutes — and he did.

As confident and talented as he was, he was never arrogant. He appreciated competition for its own sake and was always fair and respectful. He demonstrated a sense of fellowship toward his fellow competitors, whether teammates or opponents. With Carter, sports were never about winning or defeating an opponent — they were always about the joy of competing.

Carter had much to give and never hesitated to help others. In both sports and life, Carter’s caring and respectful manner touched many lives in ways that reverberate through time. He was truly a young man whose life was a lesson for all of us.

Nominees were:
High School: Baylor Kivlahan, Sean Shealer, and Tristan Priest
Bantam A: Camdyn Spangler
Bantam B: Cody Kruser
PWA: Logan Herzog
PWB: Ethan Waddick
PWC: Bryce Kelly
Squirt B: Owen Lippold
Squirt C: Parker Rojemann
RWB Red: Memphis Freund
RWB White: Evalie Riedl
RWB Blue: Liam Patterson

Great job to all those who were nominated and chosen as winners!!